top of page

Long exposure experiments

I recently modelled for a photographer who captured some really interesting, layered images. I have never really understood how this worked but I found the outcome inspiring. I showed the image to my girlfriend (who is also a very good photographer) and together we experimented with varying ways to capture multiple images within one (all done in camera).

The original photograph that inspired me was taken by Danny B (Myself & Artemis Fauna modelling on our duo day at SS Creative studio):

I originally started attempting to photograph a completely still object to understand the camera set-ups involved in taking long exposure shots. I took these images in my house, as there is not a lot of natural light in certain areas and given the length of time the shutter is open, a darker space is more suitable to this kind of photography (the above was taken in a dark corridor). So as not to move the camera when pressing the shutter, I set the camera up on a tripod and used a remote trigger.

I set the camera on shutter speed 5" / f13 / ISO100. To create these images I used a zoom lens and experimented with zooming in or out after pressing the shutter. I found the best results when I started zoomed as far out as I wanted and then after about 3 seconds zooming in. Once I figured this out, I experimented with taking shots in this style with my girlfriend:

I loved the idea of involving something other than just a figure in the images so we choose to involve flowers. I feel this continues the theme of some of my other work and gives a new take on my project exploring femininity, feminine desire and sexuality. I think there is something really intimate and erotic about the movement captured in these images, it gives a sense of being in a particular 'moment'. Becauase the colours in the bedding and robe were distracting from the figure, I found these worked best in black and white.

I also experimented in a slightly different location with the same camera settings. I really loved the colours in the below images, especially as Ellarna has such brightly coloured hair. (click slideshow for full set of images):

I have done minimal post-processing to balance the colours a little and make the most of these images but the majority was done in camera. I am really in love with experimenting in this style and it has really motivated me to keep pushing forward with my personal projects and ideas (which I was starting to lack motivation with. I'm really excited to see where this journey leads and also start printing these images onto different media (paper, transparent materials and possibly also fabric).

Keep checking back for further updates and progress :)

MR x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page