top of page

Summer 2017 - Travels and inspirations

​This summer I decided I wanted to travel as much as possible, meet as many creative individuals as possible and start identifying a particular style of work I would like to further pursue along with learning as much technical knowledge as I could along the way. ​I arranged a number of tours, both in the UK ad abroad, primarily working as a model as a way of meeting other artists/photographers that I wouldn't normally get the opportunity to interact with. Places I travelled to for extended periods included: Scotland, North and south Wales, Lanzarote, Kent, London, Spain and Hampshire. ​Rather than focusing on 'just being a model' I tried, where possible, to spend time with the artists outside of the photoshoots (by using the word 'just' I am purposefully referring to the stereotype that the model is purely the subject/object, much like a mannequin - not necessarily saying this is something I agree with). My aim was getting to know what inspires them, what motives them and picking up tips on the technical aspects of their work. I don't think I have ever seen as many photography/art books as I did this summer! I found this became hugely beneficial to when I was in front of the camera also, as the photographers/artists were much more appreciative of my suggestions/input and it made for a much more collaborative working environment. I feel very proud to have become the model and co-creator in a lot of the images I helped to produce over this summer. ​In all honesty, I often found it incredibly overwhelming getting very deeply involved in someones style and then moving on and meeting someone else with a totally different style/motivation. But this did give me perspective to the photography/art world in general and helped me to see what I enjoyed and didn't enjoy, what styles inspire me and the ones I struggle to engage with. It has definitely pushed me to be the creator of my own artwork again and given me a huge list of resources that I'd like to further research!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
bottom of page